Franklin County Schools Closure

Posted on 03/27/2020

Franklin County, MO School Districts (March 27, 2020) - As area superintendents continue to navigate this historic COVID-19 health challenge, nothing is more important than protecting the health of students, employees, and the communities they serve.  After consulting with state and local officials, all school districts listed below are announcing an extension of the current school closure through April 24, 2020. Families will receive more detailed guidance from their respective school districts over the next few days. 


Franklin County school superintendents recognize this continued closure will generate many questions, especially for families with students who are seniors.  On March 19, Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven shared, "There will be details that need to be worked out for graduating A+ seniors who may still need to take an assessment. We will share information and updates as soon as they become available."  The Commissioner also shared that the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education is currently analyzing what additional exceptions to graduation requirements should be approved for graduating seniors, with anticipation of releasing any changes within the next couple of weeks. School leaders ask for your patience as they work through many of these details. 


All schools listed below are extending their school closure through April 24, 2020. Our school leaders want to emphasize their commitment to doing everything in their power to support their communities during this closure.

Franklin County R-II School District 

Lonedell R-14 School District 

Meramec Valley R-III School District 

New Haven School District 

Spring Bluff R-15 School District 

St. Clair R-13 School District 

Strain-Japan R-16 School District 

Sullivan School District 

Union R-XI School District 

School District of Washington 

Crosspoint Christian School

Immanuel Lutheran School